DCPS to Close 20 Schools

DC Public Schools (DCPS) will close 20 schools in Wards 2, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8, Chancellor Kaya Henderson announced at a press briefing this morning. The majority will be closed at the end of the 2012-13 school year. These include eight elementary schools, four middle schools, one high school and three special education campuses. Nearly half of the proposed schools are in Wards 7 and 8.

Chancellor Henderson presented several reasons for consolidation:

  • creating savings to cover the costs of  modernizing remaining facilities;
  • full enrollments ensure schools are properly funded and staffed;
  • savings will allow the remaining schools to hire arts and music teachers and librarians;
  • the number of classrooms at each grade level can be increased.

Despite a detailed presentation, Henderson did not provide specifics on the impact of closings on teachers and principals. No information on staff reductions or reassignments was provided.

Rather than sell the buildings to real estate developers, DCPS prefers to lease the closed school buildings to non-profits and charter schools, Henderson stated. She asked for community input on future uses of the mothballed facilities.

DCPS will hold several meetings in the coming months. Currently, there are currently city council hearings scheduled on Nov. 15 and Nov. 19 on the issue of school closings.

To learn more about the school closings, visit www.EngageDCPS.org.

Here is the list of the schools to be closed:

  1. Francis-Stevens Educational Campus
  2. Garrrison Elementary School
  3. MacFarland Middle School
  4. Sharpe Health School
  5. Mamie D. Lee School
  6. CHOICE at Hamilton
  7. Marshall Elementary School
  8. Spingarn High School
  9. Spingarn STAY
  10. Prospect Learning Center
  11. Shaw atr Garnet-Patterson
  12. Davies Elementary School
  13. Kenilworth Elementary School
  14. Ron Brown Middle School
  15. Smothers Elementary School
  16. Winston Educational Campus
  17. Ferebee-Hope Elementary School
  18. Johnson Middle School
  19. Malcolm X Elementary School
  20. MC Terrell-McGogney Elementary School

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.